Trick or treat?

There’s definitely a treat in this post – whichever way you look at it!  On October 31, I visited Mazamet with friends.  The town is not all that far from St Chinian,  just under an hour by car  along the D612, which connects Beziers to Albi.  The drive is a beautiful one, especially at this time of year with the fall colours.

We drove to Mazamet to have lunch at Mets & Plaisirs, a hotel-restaurant which my friends discovered a little while back.  The restaurant is close to the centre of the town, just across the road from a nice public park.

P1130933

We were welcomed at the door by Mr Blancard, the owner, and shown to our table in the cozy dining room.  Nice linen tablecloth and napkins, silver cutlery, quality glasses – all lovely!!

P1130908 

Soon we had made our choices and were happily chatting away whilst sipping an aperitif.  These are the nibbles which came with the aperitif:  black olive tapenade, roquefort and walnut mousse, crispy bacon pieces and croutons.

P1130890

 

The “amuse bouche”, a kind of pre-starter, consisted of slices of salmon fillet, marinated with lemon juice and olive oil – very tasty!

P1130891

I couldn’t resist the foie-gras on the menu, and I’m glad I chose it – it really was very good!!

P1130892

My dining companions all opted for gravad-lax style salmon, which was incredibly tender and tasty.  I’ll order that next time :)!!

P1130894

I was very pleased with my choice of main course!  I had ordered veal, which was cooked to perfection, and served on a bed of chestnut puree.

P1130896

My dining companions all opted for the wild sea bass, which they pronounced excellent!

P1130895

I had to pass on cheese, but the cheese selection was very good (sorry about the blurry picture 😦 ), and the servings generous.

Desserts were heavenly, and this time we almost managed to have one of each amongst the four of us:  quince tarte tatin, roasted figs, and rum baba with pineapple.  I had the rum baba, and I tasted some of the quince tarte tatin – both were very good – the whole meal was a real treat!!

After all that wonderful food we needed to go for a bit of a walk, to exercise off some of the calories! 🙂

I had often driven through Mazamet, but only once stopped for a brief visit.  There is much to discover in the town, as I found out.  Mazamet had its heyday between the 1880s and 1950s, and its prime source of wealth was the processing of wool and leather.  The wealthy bourgeoisie built themselves beautiful mansions, often very close to their storehouses and factories, and there are many stunning buildings to be discovered!

Today Mazamet is still a lively town of some 10,000 inhabitants, and there are many interesting shops, such as this chocolate and pastry shop!

… or this cheese shop:

P1130928

There were several florist shops, but the one in the picture had a particularly appealing display:

P1130922

The public spaces in Mazamet are well-kept and nicely planted, and I can imagine that the town is very busy on market days (Tuesdays and Saturdays).  I’ll definitely go back for another exploration of the town!

 

6 thoughts on “Trick or treat?

Did you enjoy this post? Let me know what you think

