A cherry classic

On one of my recent flea market forays, I found these lovely porcelain dishes – they just called out to me from their crate!  They weren’t all that expensive so I bought six!!

IMG_5560

With the cherries in season, it was time to put the dishes to work.  I had a feeling that they would be the perfect size for an individual cherry clafoutis.  You might have heard of clafoutis – it is a kind of flan, traditionally made with black cherries.  I had some red cherries, but I thought they would work just fine too! 😀

IMG_5569

The basic ngredients are very simple: cherries, cream, milk, eggs, sugar and a tiny bit of butter to grease the dishes.

IMG_5565

Here’s a completely gratuitous picture of the cherries in one of my new dishes:

IMG_5575

The cherries can be pitted or not – as you wish.  Traditionally the stones are left in the cherries, as they are supposed to release some additional flavour during cooking.  To my mind, the advantage of leaving the stones in the cherries is that it makes for faster preparation.  The washed cherries are simply stemmed and arranged in the dishes – there are 17 cherries in each dish!

IMG_5578

For the batter, the eggs are beaten with the sugar, then the cream, milk and kirsch are added.  Once all is well mixed the batter is evenly divided between the four dishes.

After 30 minutes the clafoutis should be nicely browned and puffed up.

Now you just have to wait until the clafoutis are lukewarm, before you tuck in! 😀  The tops can be dusted with icing (confectioners) sugar, but I prefer mine without.  Bonne degustation!

IMG_5594

Cherry Clafoutis

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

500 g cherries
90 ml creme fraiche
60 ml milk
2 eggs
2 tbsp sugar
2 tbsp kirsch (replace with milk if making this for children)
butter for greasing

Pre-heat the oven to 185°C.  Butter four individual oven-proof dishes, just large enough to hold your cherries in a single layer;  my dishes measure 10cm across the bottom and 14cm across the outer rim.  You could also use a single (larger) dish, just be sure that the fruits fit snugly. A square baking dish, approx 23 x 23cm should work well.

Wash your cherries, remove the stems and decide on whether or not you want to remove the pits.  Arrange the cherries in the dishes.

Break the eggs into a mixing bowl; add the sugar and beat to mix well.  Add the creme fraiche, milk and kirsch and stir until well blended.  Divide the batter evenly between the four dishes and bake in a pre-heated oven for 30 minutes or until nicely browned, and puffed around the edges.

Serve lukewarm or at room temperature, dusted with icing sugar if you like.  This can be prepared ahead of time, but be sure to allow the clafoutis to come to room temperature before serving.

13 thoughts on “A cherry classic

  1. I think the cherry pits affect the baking. I have a heating pad that you put in the microwave–it’s filled with cherry pits. It makes sense that they would get hot and stay that way. Maybe that lets you cook the clafoutis less, and avoid the bottom getting too brown, because the pits would gently continue the cooking.
    These are the most beautiful in-the-oven shots I’ve seen!

    Liked by 2 people

    • You could be on to something with the cherry pits – they must be left in for a reason! I’ve found that when I use stoned cherries, they tend to ‘leak’, making the clafoutis a little soggy. One recipe I’ve seen (Patricia Wells At Home in Provence) suggests pre-baking the fruit and draining the juice and syrup. Works well, but it’s more work 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow what a simple dish and yet so representative of summer: so simple, yet so appetising…and it helps that cherries are one of my favourites! This is on the ‘to cook’ list for consumption in the very near future. Thanks for sharing and providing the inspiration.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a timely post! I just bought beautiful cheeries from a neighbour’s sidewalk stand and had the immediate idea of making a clafoutis. Now, I am even more inspired to match your photos. Now, if I only had those perfect little dishes……Thanks, Andreas.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My mouth is watering after reading this recipe and looking at the luscious photos. What a pity I have to wait 5 months until cherry season here in southeast Australia! But I’ve printed the recipe and will definitely try it in late November when the cherries arrive.

    Like

Did you enjoy this post? Let me know what you think

