Pictures at an exhibition

For those of you who wondered what happened to last week’s post: I took a week off, following a small surgical procedure, which went very well, but left me with a little more need for relaxation than I had anticipated :).  I had meant to drop you all a note – I hope you didn’t get worried!

One of the relaxing things I managed to do later in my recuperation, was a visit to a new art gallery, La Remise du Fada, in Ginestas, not all that far away from Saint-Chinian.  The gallery has been created in a former barn, so the space inside is large and airy.  The conversion has been beautifully done, with floors made from reclaimed wood and natural stone, and the new barn doors are impressive to say the least.

P1010089

P1010048

The inaugural exhibition is showing the work of seven different artists – the show will be on for three months!  I had received an invitation to the vernissage from Pierre-Regis Dides, whose pictures I have previously written about here.  Pierre-Regis was showing a selection of his paintings, and one of them (my favourite from the last exhibition) had been framed by the gallery owner for the show.  It looked even better, but alas, I don’t have a wall large enough for it!

P1010050

I was also very pleased to see the work of Thomas Darnell, a painter I have known for a very long time.  In this exhibition Tom is showing fine art prints of some of his paintings.  I did not realise that the pictures on show were prints, until Nicole, Tom’s wife, pointed it out to me.  Tom’s paintings tend to be very large, and the advantage of the prints is that they come in three different sizes.  They are also a lot easier on the pocketbook than one of Tom’s original paintings :).  You can find Tom’s site for the prints here.

P1010070

P1010071

P1010072

I also saw the work of Thalia Reventlow, a Danish artist, whom I met through friends many years ago.  I loved her chickens, but don’t be deceived, Thalia is a very serious ceramicist!

Gilles Chapel, painter and sculptor, was showing some of his ceramics:

as well as some of his paintings:

Serge Griggio’s paintings had an air of mystery about them, as if the empty chairs were waiting for someone to sit down.

P1010057

Lionel Laussedat‘s steel sculptures are made in his workshop in Serignan.  The sculptures range in size from the very manageable, such as the two in the pictures below, to more monumental pieces which are on display in public spaces all over the world.

Flores Alders‘s paintings are bold and colourful.  He draws his inspiration from the Fauvism movement.

P1010058

So there you have it – a very interesting exhibition in a wonderful new gallery.  If you are in the area, do go and visit, but I would suggest that you telephone ahead (+33 679 673 475) to make sure that the gallery will be open.

 

5 thoughts on “Pictures at an exhibition

Did you enjoy this post? Let me know what you think

